Take 5 Jazz

program no. 1171

  • Start my program with the Kenny Clarke/Francy Boland Big Band , track from the lp “Our Kinda Strauss” recorded January 14th 1972 featuring Benny Bailey, Ake Persson, Derek Humble, Johnny Griffin, Karl Drewo, Sal Nistico, Sahib Shihab
  • The Peter Herbolzheimer  Rhythm Combination and Brass , track from the lp “Fat Man Boogie—A Tribute to Swing” recorded November 14th 1981 with Ack van Rooyen, Ferdinand Povel, Bubi Aderhold, Jiggs Whigham, Rob Franken, Bo Stief, Peter Tiehuis, Bruno Castelucci
  • Drummer Kenny Clarke, track from his lp “The Paris & Cologne Sessions” recorded in 1957 with Don Byas on tenor sax, Fats Sadi: vibes, Francy Boland: piano, Jean Warland: bass, Eddie Busnello: alto sax, Chris Kellens: trombone
  • Tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis , track from the lp “What’s New” recorded july 24th 1975 with Michel Attenoux: piano, Patrick Artero: trumpet, Claude Gousset: trombone, Gabriel Garvanoff: piano, Jean-Piere Mulot: bass
  • The Ben Webster special, track 226/520- this week  Ben’s  lp “Live at Pio”s” recorded February 18th 1964 with Junior Mance: piano, Bob Cranshaw: bass, Mickey Roker: drums
  • Pianist Stan Tracey, track from the new cd “Under Milk Wood in Hamburg” recorded march 15-18th 1966 with Kenny Wheeler: trumpet/flugelhorn, Bobby Wellins: tenor sax, Jeff Clyne: bass, Jackie Dougan: drums
  • The Duke Ellington Big Band ,track from “ live in Zurich” recorded may 2nd 1950 with tenorist Don Byas as soloist
  • Vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, track from the lp “Stick Up” recorded july 14th 1966 with Joe Henderson: tenor sax, McCoy Tyner: piano, Herbie Lewis: bass, Billy Higgins: drums
  • The Millennium Jazz Orchestra, track from the cd “Oatts Notes” recorded july 9-10th 2005 composer/arranger Joan Reinders, soloists are Dick Oatts: alto sax, Niek van Wiggen: drums
  • The Concord Super Band, track from the lp “Live in Tokyo” recorded in 1979 with Scott Hamilton: tenor sax, Warren Vache: trumpet & cornet, Cal Collins: guitar, Ross Tompkins: piano, Monty Budwig: bass, Jake Hanna: drums