Take 5 Jazz

program no. 1189

  • ·         Start my program with tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins, track from “Sonny Rollins and the big brass” recorded july 10th 1958 with Ernie Royal & Clark Terry: trumpets, Nat Adderley: cornet, Jimmy Cleveland: trombone, John Lewis: piano, Rene Thomas: guitar, Percy Heath: bass, Roy Haynes: drums

    ·         Tenor saxophonist Oscar Laven, track from his cd “Questions in Red” with Mike Taylor: trumpet, Ayerton Foote: piano, Patrick Bleakey: bass, John Rae: drums

    ·         Tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon, track from the lp “Body and Soul” recorded at Montmartre july 20th 1967 with Kenny Drew on piano, Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen on bass and drummer Albert “Tootie” Heath

    ·         Big band from drummer Buddy Rich,track from the lp “Live in Europe 1977” Steve Marcus on tenor sax, Barry Keiner on piano, Tommy Warrington on bass

    ·         Bassist Oscar Pettiford, track from his lp “Another One (on Betlehem Records) recorded in 1955, Donald Byrd: trumpet, Bob Brookmeyer: trombone, Gigi Gryce: alto sax, Jerome Richardson: tenor sax, Don Abney: piano, Osie Johnson: drums

    ·         The Ben Webster special track 244/520, this week Ben in Paradiso, Amsterdam with Cees Slinger: piano, Rob Langereis: bass , Han Bennink: drums, recorded in 1968

    ·         Bassist Curtis Counce, track from his lp “Sonority” recorded January 6th 1958 with Jack Sheldon: trumpet, Harold Land: tenor sax, Carl Perkins: piano,Frank Butler: drums

    ·         Vibraphonist Milt Jackson, track from the lp “Plenty, Plenty Soul” recorded January 5th 1957 with Cannonball Adderley: alto sax, Frank Foster: tenor sax, Sahib Shihab: baritone sax, Joe Newman: trumpet, Jimmy Cleveland: trombone, Horace Silver: piano, Percy Heath: bass, Art Blakey: drums

    ·         Tenor saxophonist Fats Theus, track from the CTI album “Black Out” recorded july 16th 1970 with Clarence Palmer: organ, Grant Green: guitar, Chuck Rainey: bass guitar, Idris Muhammad: drums

    ·         Drummer Roberto Pistolesi, track from his album “Open Lands and Moving People” recorded in 2022 with Teis Semey: guitar, Daniel Juarez: tenor sax, Sanne Huijbergts: vocals, Zack Lober: basses