Take 5 Jazz

program no. 1156

  • Start my program with arranger Ernie Fields, track from  “Blast from the Past” recorded in 1959 with Plas Johnson: tenor sax, Ernie Freeman: piano, Rene Hall: guitar, Earl Palmer: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton, track from his lp “Danish Ballads…and More”  recorded 7 & 8 november 2018 with Jan Lundgren: piano, Hans Backenroth: bass, Kristian Leth: drums
  • On saxophones, clarinet and bass clarinet Alan Barnes, track from his new cd “Copperfield – A Dickensian Suite” recorded in 2022 with Bruce Adams: trumpet, Mark Nightingale: trombone, Robert Fowler & Karen Sharp: saxes and clarinet, David Newton: piano, Simon Thorpe: bass, Clark Tracey: drums
  • Pianist Jan Lundgren and bassist Hans Backenroth, track from the cd “The Gallery Concerts II—Jazz Poetry” recorded may 4th 2022
  • Tenor saxophonists Totti Bergh & Plas Johnson, track from the cd “On the Trail” recorded august 10th 1991with Egil Kapstad: piano, Terje Venaas: bass, Ole Jacob Hansen: drums
  • The Ben Webster special, track 211/520, this week Ben “Live in Vienna” recorded may 2nd 1972 accompanied by local musicians
  • Jan Lundgren- Hans Backenroth
  • The Millennium Jazz Orchestra, track from the cd “Octopus” recorded may 2nd 2018 live at Theater Bouwkunde Deventer , composer/arranger Joan Reinders
  • Tenor and baritone saxophonist Charlie Ventura, track from his lp “Plays Hi-Fi Jazz” recorded in 1957 with Dave McKenna: piano, Bill Bean: guitar, Richard Davis: bass, Mousey Alexander: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Benny Golson, track from his album “California Message” recorded October 20th 1980 with Curtis Fuller: trombone, Oscar Brashear: trumpet, Bill Mays: piano, Bob Magnusson: bass, Roy McCurdy: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon, track from the lp “Misty” recorded at Montmartre Jazzhus, Copenhagen july 8th 1965 with Kenny Drew: piano, Niels Henning Orsted Pedersen: bass, Alex Riel: drums
  • Bassist  Yiorgos Fakanas track from his cd “Topaz- Jazz suite in six parts and fourteen images” with Horacio “El Negro” hernandez, Steve Weingart, Bob Franceschini, Dimitris Agelakis