Take 5 Jazz

program no. 1142

  • Start my program with tenor saxophonists Big Jay McNeely & Rinus Groeneveld track from “Party Time” recorded march 2009 with Martijn Schok: keyboards, Stefan Jankowski: guitar, Sergei Shapko: bass, Maarten Kruijswijk: drums
  • Drummer Jack Parnell, track from “Parnell on Parade”  recorded September 20th 1955 with tenor saxophonist Red Price
  • Drummer Bob Peckman, track from his cd “In the Pocket” recorded November 22nd 1999 with Royce Campbell: guitar, Hod O’Brien: piano, Hans Mantel: bass
  • Drummer Buddy Rich, track from  “Take the “A” Train” recorded in 1977 with Barry Kiener: piano, Tommy Warrington: bass, Candido: congas, Lionel Hampton: vibes, Steve Marcus, Gary Pribeck & Paul Moen: tenor saxes
  • The Ben Webster special, track 202/520 this week Ben with Don Byas live in Amsterdam , recorded april 8th 1967 with Cees Slinger: piano, Jacques Schols: bass, Peter Ypma: drums
  • Trumpeter Ruud Breuls and tenor saxophonist Simon Rigter track from the cd “Rise and Shine” recorded January 2/3rd 2019 with  Karel Boehlee: keyboards, Jos Machtel: bass, Marcel Serierse: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Dexter Gordon, track from “ The N.Y. Broadcast”  recorded august 20th 1945 with Don Byas, Ben Webster & Herbie Fields: tenor saxes, Stuff Smith: violin, Duke Ellington: piano, Al Casey: guitar, Al Lucas: bass, Eddie Nicholson: drums
  • Baritone saxophonist Rik van den Bergh, track from the cd “Reserge” recorded june 2007 with Marco Kegel & Jan Smit: alto sax, Simon Rigter & Sjoerd Dijkhuizen: tenor sax, Erik Doelman: piano, Frans van Geest: bass, Gijs Dijkhuizen: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Klas Toresson, track from his cd “Fundamentals”  recorded January 24-25th 2022 with Leo Lindberg: piano, Kenji Rabson: bass, Erik Soderlind: guitar, Moussa Fadera: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Klaus Doldinger, track from “The Atlantic Family at Montreux”  recorded in 1977 with Herbie Mann: flute, Sonny Fortune & David Newman: alto sax, Dick Morrissey, Molly Duncan & Klaus Doldinger: tenor saxes, Rogel Ball: keyboards, Hamish Stuart & Jim Mullen: guitars, Alan Gorrie: bass, Steve Ferrone:  drums, Sammy Figuroa: percussion