Take 5 Jazz

program no. 1106

  • I’ll start my program with  Ack van Rooyen on trumpet and flugelhorn, track from his lp “Homeward” recorded November 1952 with Bart van Lier: trombone, Ferdinand Povel: tenor sax, Rob Franken: fender Rhodes, Theo de Jong: bass, Bruno Castellucci: drums(track: Homeward)
  • The Peter Herbolzheimer Rhythm Combination and Brass, track from “Big Band BeBop” (track: On The Scene)  with solos from Rob Franken: keyboards, Ack van  Rooyen: flugelhorn
  • Drummer Charlie Antolini track from “Jazz Power Live in Stuttgart” recorded October 28th 1977 with Sal Nistico: tenor sax, Ack van Rooyen: flugelhorn, Bob Burgess: trombone, Rob Franken: fender rhodes, Gary Todd: bass (Loose and Easy)
  • Tenor saxophonist Lucky Thompson track from his lp “Lucky and Gerard Pochonet”  recorded march 12th 1956 with Martial Solal: piano, Pierre Michelot: bass, Gerard Pochonet: drums, Jean Pierre Sasson: guitar, Michel Hausser: vibes ( My Funny Valentine)
  • Composer/Arranger Jerry van Rooyen & Ack van Rooyen on trumpet/flugelhorn, track from the lp “Didn’t we” recorded in 1970 with Rob Franken: keyboards,  Herb Geller: alto sax ( Her name is Barbara)
  • The Ben Webster special, track 167/520, his lp “Music for Loving” recorded in N.Y.C. march 30th 1954 (Until Tonight)
  • On trumpet you’ll hear Kenny Dorham, track from his lp “The Jazz Prophets vol.” recorded april 4th 1956 with Dick Katz: piano, Sam Jones; bass, Arthur Edgehill: drums, J.R. Monterose: tenor sax ( The Prophet)
  • Tenor saxophonist Eddie Harris, track from his lp “Smokin” recorded in Chicago 1961 with Willie Pickens:  piano, Donald Garrett: bass, Earl Thomas: drums (It never entered my Mind)
  • Alto & tenor saxophonist Lee Konitz, track from “In Europe 1956—The Paris and Koln Sessions” recorded January 16th 1956 with Lars Gullin: tenor sax, Rene Urtreger: piano, Pierre Michelott: bass, Christian Garros: drums, Bobby Jasper: tenor sax, Sacha Distel: guitar ( Now’s the Time)
  • Pianist Stan Tracey , track from “Jazz Suite-Under Milk Wood” recorded in 1965 with Bobby Wellins: tenor sax, Jeff Clyne: bass, Jackie Dougan: drums ( Cockle Row)
  • The Manhattan Jazz Quintet—Reunion  track from “Manhattan  Blues” recorded February 27th 1990 with Lew Soloff: trumpet, George Young: tenor sax, David Matthews: piano, Eddie Gomez: bass,  John Scofield: guitar ( The Blues March)
  • The Metropole Orchestra, track from “Then and Now” the artistry of Ack & Jerry van Rooyen” with solists Ack van Rooyen on flugelhorn and Erno Olah: violin recorded December 11th 1984 ( It never entered my Mind)