Take 5 Jazz

No. 1104

  • I’ll start my program with pianist Rene Urtreger, track from “The Amsterdam Concert” recorded December 8th 1957 with Miles Davis: trumpet, Barney Wilen: tenor sax, Pierre Michelot: bass, Kenny Clarke: drums
  • Pianist Elmo Hope, track from “Informal Jazz” recorded may 7th 1956 with Paul Chambers: bass, Philly Joe Jones: drums, Donald Byrd: trumpet, Hank Mobley & John Coltrane: tenor sax
  • Baritone saxophonist Lars Gullin, track from his lp “Lars on EmArcy” recorded November 6th 1953 with Alan Dawson: drums, Georg Riedel: bass, Rolf Berg: guitar, Carl Henrik Norin: tenor sax
  • Drummer Bernard Purdie, track from “Soul Drums” recorded in 1968 with Richard Tee:keyboards, Bob Bushnell: bass, Eric Gale: guitar, Seldon Powell & Buddy Lucas: tenor sax
  • STUFF, track from the lp “More Stuff” recorded in 1977 with Cornell Dupree & Eric Gale: guitars, Richard Tee: fender Rhodes, Gordon Edwards: bass, Steve Gadd; drums, Gene Orloff: violin
  • The Ben Webster special, track 165/520, Ben with a track from the lp(s) “The Complete Ben Webster on EmArcy” recorded December 26th 1951
  • The Quartet, 4 legends  at the Tokyo Jazz Festival  September 7th 2014 Benny Golson: tenor sax, Kenny Barron: piano, Ron Carter: bass, Lenny White: drums
  • Alto saxophonist Yano Saori, track from her cd “Confirmation” recorded in 2003 with Eric Alexander: tenor sax, Peter Bernstein: guitar, Harold Mabern: piano, John Webber: bass, Joe Farnsworth: drums
  • Tenor saxophonist Brew Moore track from “West Coast Brew” recorded at the University of California, San Francisco august 1955, John Marabuto: piano, Eddie Duran: guitar, Max Hartstein: bass, Gus Gustafson: drums, Dick Mills: trumpet, Cal Tjader: vibes
  • Tenor saxophonist Barney Wilen, track from his cd “Live In Tokyo”91” with Oliver Hutman: piano,  Gilles Naturel: bass, Peter Gritz: drums
  • On the vibes Mike Mainieri, track from “Piazza Della Riforma”recorded  july 4th 1991 with Bendik Hofseth: tenor sax, James Tunnell: guitar, Jeff Andrews: bass, Rachel Nicolazzo: keyboards, Steve Smith: drums